Montgomery County Underage DUI

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) has been taking increased measure to lower the rate of vehicle accidents among younger drivers. Automobile accidents are the leading cause of fatalities in the age group of 16 to 24. Many of these crashes result from distracted driving, traveling at excessive speed, and operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Underage Alcohol Consumption

The state has increased the penalties associated with underage drinking in recent years. A fine of up to $500 may now be imposed. Underage drinkers may now have their driver's license suspended for 90 days—even if not operating a vehicle at the time. Second-time offenders may now face a license suspension of one year.

Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol § 3802

Individuals are prohibited from driving, operating, or having “physical control of the movement of a vehicle” after consuming alcohol in a quantity that impairs safe operation. Adult drivers may not drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08%. This limitation for those under the legal drinking age is a BAC of .02.

Blood Alcohol Content BAC Levels[1]

 

General Impairment

.08% - .10%

High Level

.10% - .16%

Highest Level

Greater than .16%

For Minors

.02%

Understanding a BAC of .02%

According to the Indiana University of Pennsylvania, located approximately 60 miles east of Pittsburgh, most individuals will exceed the .02% level by having two drinks. At this BAC level, an individual may experience “lowering of brain functioning” and “impairment of judgment” and may be unable to safely operate a vehicle.

Using a BAC estimation tool we have calculated some examples:

Gender

Weight

Quantity

Time Period

Estimated BAC

Male

220 pounds

Two Drinks

One Hour

.023%

Male

180 pounds

Two Drinks

One Hour

.03%

Female

170 pounds

Two Drinks

Two Hours

.029%

Female

130 pounds

One Drink

One Hour

.023%

Driving Under the Influence of a Controlled Substance

Motorists are prohibited from driving, operating, or guiding the motion of a motor vehicle when their blood contains a Schedule I, II or III controlled substance that is not prescribed by a physician. The same applies to metabolites (derivatives) of scheduled controlled substances.   The existence of “solvent or noxious” substances in the blood is also prohibited.

Penalties: Underage DUI

  • First Offense: Two days to six months in jail, a fine of between $500 and $5,000, and a 12-month loss of driving privileges
  • Second Offense: 30 days to six months in jail, a fine of between $750 and $5,000, and a 12-month loss of driving privileges
  • Third Offense: 90 days to five years in jail, a fine of between $1,500 and $10,000, and an 18-month loss of driving privileges

DUI Offenders Should Seek Legal Counsel

Even those convicted of a first-time underage DUI may face harsh penalties including jail time and a loss of driving privileges. Having an effective defense attorney representing you is important. Your attorney will review all the evidence against you and create a defense strategy. There may be alternative sentencing options or grounds for negotiation of the charges.

Montgomery County Attorney for Underage DUI Defense

Attorney Joseph D. Lento has been representing clients in cases involving underage alcohol consumption, DUI, and other offense for many years in Pennsylvania. You deserve to know that your rights will be protected. Contact the office today for a case evaluation at (888) 535-3686.


[1] https://www.legis.state.pa.us/WU01/LI/LI/CT/HTM/75/00.038..HTM

Contact Us Today!

Footer 2

Attorney Joseph D. Lento has more than a decade of experience successfully resolving clients' criminal charges in Philadelphia and the Pennsylvania counties. If you are having any uncertainties about what the future may hold for you or a loved one, contact the Lento Law Firm today! Criminal defense attorney Joseph D. Lento will go above and beyond the needs of any client, and will fight until the final bell rings.

This website was created only for general information purposes. It is not intended to be construed as legal advice for any situation. Only a direct consultation with a licensed Pennsylvania and New Jersey attorney can provide you with formal legal counsel based on the unique details surrounding your situation. The pages on this website may contain links and contact information for third party organizations – the Lento Law Firm does not necessarily endorse these organizations nor the materials contained on their website. In Pennsylvania, Attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout Pennsylvania's 67 counties, including, but not limited to Philadelphia, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery, Berks, Lancaster, Lehigh, and Northampton County. In New Jersey, attorney Joseph D. Lento represents clients throughout New Jersey's 21 counties: Atlantic, Bergen, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Salem, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren County, Outside of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, unless attorney Joseph D. Lento is admitted pro hac vice if needed, his assistance is educational advice, and does not constitute legal advice or the practice of law. The decision to hire an attorney in Philadelphia, the Pennsylvania counties, New Jersey, or nationwide should not be made solely on the strength of an advertisement. We invite you to contact the Lento Law Firm directly to inquire about our specific qualifications and experience. Communicating with the Lento Law Firm by email, phone, or fax does not create an attorney-client relationship. The Lento Law Firm will serve as your official legal counsel upon a formal agreement from both parties. Any information sent to the Lento Law Firm before an attorney-client relationship is made is done on a non-confidential basis.

Menu