If you are facing a second DUI charge (also commonly called DWI, drunk driving, drugged driving), you may think that you know what's in store. But the consequences of subsequent DUI charges are much more severe than a first-time offense, and you have much more at stake. With the possibility of months in prison and thousands in fines hanging over your head, you need to know that your attorney is not afraid to fight tirelessly on your behalf.
Second DUI Lawyer in Philadelphia
The experienced attorneys of Lento Law Firm have many clients facing a second drunk or drugged driving charge, and we know you have a tough fight ahead of you. We are dedicated to proactively defending your future, and work hard from the moment you first contact our firm. Our knowledge of Pennsylvania's Driving Under the Influence laws and experience in Philadelphia courtrooms will help us seek out a positive resolution for your situation.
Call us at (215) 535-5353 today to schedule your free consultation appointment. We can analyze your case and give you an honest assessment of the options available to you. We are proud to tackle challenging cases from across Philadelphia, including the tough situations involving your charges.
Info About Second DUI Charges in Pennsylvania
- Potential Penalties for a Second DUI Offense in Philadelphia
- Requirement for Ignition Interlock Devices for DUI Offenses
Those found to be driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at .08 or a certain amount of drugs in their system can be charged with DUI in Pennsylvania. Offenses after the first conviction for DUI carry steeper penalties. These consequences are outlined Penn. Stat. § 3804 and increase based on the BAC of the driver at the time.
If the driver's BAC was between .08 and .1, they can lose their license for up to a year. In addition, they face a mandatory prison sentence of 5 days that can be raised to 6 months, as well as a minimum fine of $300 that can be extended up to $2,500. The offender will also be ordered to participate in an alcohol treatment program.
For a BAC between .1 and .16, the minimum prison sentence increases to 30 days and the driver can be fined between $750 and $5,000. When a driver's BAC is over .16, they face a minimum of 90 days in prison, which can be extended up to 5 years. They will also be fined between $1,500 and $10,000.
Any driver convicted of a drunk driving offense faces an automatic suspension of their driving privileges that can be enforced between 1 year and 18 months. This administatrtive suspension may be challenged while your case is being processed through a hearing requested with the DMV.
These potential penalties increase for subsequent offenses as well, with subsequent DUIs carrying even harsher consequences. This makes your record important, and a Philadelphia defense lawyer can help defend you from adding another conviction to your background.
In addition to jail time and fines, driver convicted for a second driving under the influence offense will also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for at least a year. This device requires that the driver submit a clean breath sample before operating the vehicle, and can randomly require another breath sample while the vehicle is moving.
Apart from the inconvenience of this device, an IID can also be expensive to install and maintain. There is a monthly fee for operating the device and the offender will be responsible for all costs of installing and uninstalling the device. This can range into the hundreds of dollars, in addition to whatever court costs the offender already faces. The duration of the requirement for an IID is typically served after your license suspension has been lifted, meaning that you could face 2 years before your normal driving abilities would be restored.
Finding the Best Attorney for a Second DUI Charge in Philadelphia
Your charges can be overwhelming with so many consequences on the line. That's why you need to know that your attorney is not afraid to persevere in the face of a challenge. At Lento Law Firm, we know exactly what you're up against and how to effectively fight your charges. Call us today at (215) 535-5353 to schedule your free consultation about your charges in Philadelphia.