Although there are a few exceptions, for the most part, individuals in Pennsylvania are not allowed to carry concealed firearms. The lawmakers contend that carrying a concealed firearm presents a safety hazard for the public. Therefore, if an individual is found to be in possession of a concealed firearm, he or she can be charged with an offense that carries significant penalties.
Philadelphia Carrying a Concealed Firearm Attorney
When you are charged with an offense involving a firearm, it is important to be proactive by consulting with a defense attorney as soon as possible. At Lento Law Firm, we have the knowledge and experience necessary to deal with a variety of complex cases, including yours. We provide quality defense options for individuals charged with carrying a concealed firearm in Philadelphia.
Call us today at Lento Law Firm to set up a free consultation with Joseph Lento, a dedicated and skilled defense attorney who is prepared to serve you.
Information on Carrying a Concealed Firearm in Pennsylvania
- State Law Regarding the Concealment of a Firearm
- Exceptions to Pennsylvania's Concealed Carry Law
- What are the Penalties for Philadelphia Unlawfully Concealed Firearm Charges?
State Law Regarding the Concealment of a Firearm
According to Section 6106 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, it is against the law for an individual to carry a concealed firearm on his or her body, except in their home or place of business, if he or she does not have a valid license that permits him or her to do so. If an individual violates this law, he or she can be charged with a third degree felony.
It is also unlawful for an individual to carry a firearm in his or her vehicle without a valid license. However, this offense is considered a first degree misdemeanor if it is not committed in conjunction with any other criminal offense.
Exceptions to Pennsylvania's Concealed Carry Law
The laws regarding the concealed carry of a firearm have a few exceptions which allow individuals in certain professions or situations to carry a concealed firearm without punishment. Some of these include:
- Prison or jail wardens
- Law enforcement officers
- Members of the armed forces
- Individuals practicing target shooting
- Certain United States officers or employees
- Individuals licensed to hunt who are either hunting or traveling to hunt
- Anyone who, in the scope of a legitimate business, sells, repairs, or manufactures firearms
Individuals who are found in violation of the concealed carry law and are not part of the list of exceptions mentioned above may be able to avoid criminal charges if their defense attorney can successfully argue that they had a valid reason to be in violation of the law and should be excluded from prosecution.
What are the Penalties for Philadelphia Unlawfully Concealed Firearm Charges?
If an individual is charged with carrying a concealed gun on his or her body and convicted of a third degree felony, he or she can be sentenced to up to seven years in prison, and/or be ordered to pay a fine of up to $15,000. If convicted of the lesser first degree misdemeanor, he or she can be sentenced to up to five years of imprisonment, and/or a maximum fine of $10,000.
Defending Clients Facing Firearm Charges in Philadelphia
The penalties associated with carrying a concealed firearm are steep. In order to give yourself the best chance at avoiding these penalties, it would be in your best interest to contact a defense attorney in Philadelphia who will work around the clock to prepare the strongest case possible.
Joseph Lento of Lento Law Firm has years of legal experience, and he will stand by your side during this pressing time. Contact him today at (215) 535-5353 and schedule your free consultation.