A DUI charge can happen to anyone. Many upstanding and honorable citizens with no prior criminal history of any kind have found themselves in this situation. In Pennsylvania, there are a variety of charges that one could acquire based on the circumstances surrounding a person's arrest. These include an underage DUI, a CDL DUI, and out of state DUI,a drugged DUI, and DUIs involving prescription drugs.
An underage DUI is charged when a person under the age of 21 is caught driving a vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol. Since the legal drinking age in Pennsylvania is 21, there are incredibly strict standards for determining whether to charge an underage person with a DUI. If the chemical, breath, or urine test of an underage person has a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.02 percent or higher, or if there's indication that any drugs have been consumed, he or she may be cited with driving under the influence.
Commercial drivers in Pennsylvania must adhere to a more strict standard when it comes to driving under the influence. The legal limit for a BAC in the state is much lower for commercial drivers than it is for non-commercial drivers. For a CDL driver in a commercial vehicle, the legal limit drops to 0.04 percent. If charged and convicted of a CDL DUI, professional motorists may be subjected to harsh penalties that can compromise their livelihood as a commercial driver.
Out of State DUI
If you reside outside of Pennsylvania but have been arrested for a DUI within state lines, you need to know what you're up against. An out of state DUI arrest in Pennsylvania can jeopardize your driving privileges regardless of where you're from, and you will be forced to either go back and forth from your home to the state, or extend your visit to get the situation properly handled.
Over the last decade, the rate of people who have been apprehended and charged for drugged driving in Pennsylvania have increased. While most people are well informed of the state's laws for alcohol impairment, many may be oblivious to the state's equally stringent drug DUI laws. In Pennsylvania, it is illegal for a motorist to be in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of a drug or controlled substance. If a chemical test determines that you have, you may be convicted of a drugged DUI.
DUI and Rx Drugs
Prescription drugs are extremely intoxicating and can lead to a drugged driving charge. Substances like codeine, hydrocodone and oxycodone are found in many prescription drugs, and have been cited as the leading causes of Rx DUI charges.
Pennsylvania Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been arrested for any of the reasons indicated above, it's important you immediately contact a skilled and experienced criminal defense attorney. Joseph D. Lento has extensive experience representing people who have acquired both misdemeanor and felony DUI charges. He's helped them reduce their charges, and has even got many cases dismissed altogether. He can do the same for you. Contact him today for help.