There will be limited instances where a Pennsylvania domestic violence conviction can be expunged from a person's record but again, those instances are limited. Whether the charge involves a misdemeanor or a felony, a person in Pennsylvania will only be eligible for an expungement of a misdemeanor or a felony, if they're 70 years of age and other conditions are met, or if they're deceased and other conditions are met. If the domestic violence involves a lesser charge, such as a summary offense, harassment, for example, after five years, if they remain arrest and prosecution free, they would become eligible for an expungement.
If it's a domestic violence charge, that is a misdemeanor for which a person was convicted, although they would not be eligible for an expungement. I guess, again, unless there's limited exceptions are met, they could potentially be eligible for a record sealing or limited access if the charge is otherwise eligible, and they've remained arrest and prosecution free for 10 years. Speaking with an experienced Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney will help you best understand what your expungement options may be, and they'll help you move forward and be guided accordingly.