Since traffic offenses are so common, many people don't seem them as a big deal. However, the more you accrue, the higher the chances of your driving privileges being suspended or revoked in the state of Pennsylvania.
With the advice of a Bucks County attorney, you will be able to respond the right way to a traffic infraction in order to decrease the likelihood of being subjected to serious penalties.
Pennsylvania's Point System
Pennsylvania's Department of Transportation, commonly known as PennDOT, accounts for the driving record of all licensed state residents. Each traffic violation has “points” attached to it that are marked on a motorist's driving record when they are found guilty of a traffic offense. Here are a few examples of traffic violations that will get points on your record:
- Failing to stop at a stop sign is 3 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident when you caused property damage is 4 points
- following too closely or tailgating is 3 points
- Failing to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk is 2 points
- Failing to stop for a red light is 3 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus is 5 points
- Failure to stop for a yield sign is 3 points
- Careless driving is 3 points
- An illegal U-turn is 3 points
The point system was created with the intent to improve driver's safety in the state. It also ensures that motorists take accountability for their driving habits, and are given chances to improve. However, PennDOT doesn't give you many chances. Once a motorist accrues at least six points, corrective action is taken against a driver.
The first time your driving record is marked with six points, you will be required to take an exam. You will likely receive a written notification warning that the driver's safety exam must be completed within 30 days. If this exam is passed in the given timeframe, two points will be erased from your driving record.
The second time you accumulate six points, you will have to attend a DMV hearing. You will receive a notice in the mail with details about the hearing location and the time it will be held. In this hearing, an examiner will evaluate your driving record and recommend that you either endure a license suspension for 15 days or take a driver's education course. This decision will be based on the infractions you were cited, how often they were cited, and if there are any repeat violations on your record.
Subsequent accumulation of six or more points will result in another DMV hearing, where you will be penalized with a 30-day suspension. Some traffic violations, for excessive speeding and failing to stop for a school with flashing lights, will result in an automatic license suspension, even for a first-time offense.
Bucks County Traffic Attorney
Traffic offenses can lead to pretty dire legal repercussions, from the ability to strip you of your driving privileges to potential time spent in jail. With the help of a legal professional, you can avoid these issues. Contact skilled traffic attorney Joseph D. Lento today.