In Delaware County, PA, an arrest for drugged driving DUI is more serious than a typical drunk driving DUI. This is because a drugged driving DUI charge falls into a higher "tier" than that of the ordinary drunk driving charge. There are enhanced penalties associated with this type of charge, and these enhanced penalties can have a major negative effect on your finances and your freedom.
Experienced Delaware County DUI attorney Joseph D. Lento is highly experienced in the area of criminal defense and is here to answer your questions, as well as represent you in your criminal case. You have the right to defend yourself. Do not assume you will be found guilty.
Delaware County DUI Defense Attorney
With more than a decade of experience working in various roles in the Pennsylvania justice system, Joseph Lento is a qualified Pennsylvania criminal defense attorney with a comprehensive knowledge of how a criminal case operates from start to finish, and beyond.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Delaware County and need a comprehensive, customized defense, contact the attorneys at Lento Law Firm. Joseph Lento built his practice on the ideals of customer service and justice and he will fight for your rights and freedom. Call (215) 535-5353 today to schedule your free consultation and discover what Joseph Lento can do to clear your name.
Drugged Driving vs. Drunk Driving in Delaware County
One of the first major differences between a drunk driving charge and a drugged driving charge is the matter of "metabolites" in your blood. If a certain level of these metabolites of illegal drugs exists in your blood at the time of your arrest, you will be considered "pro se" intoxicated. This means you will be assumed to have been under the influence of the drugs at the time of the arrest, without any other proof that you were, in fact, intoxicated.
Penalty Differences: Drugged vs. Drunk Driving
The primary difference between drugged and drunk driving has to do with how severe the sentences will be. Under Pennsylvania law, there are three "tiers" of penalties for DUI. A normal first time drunk driving DUI with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) below 0.10% will be in the first tier, subject to the following penalties:
- Maximum of 6 months probation
- $300 fine maximum
- Alcohol highway safety school
- Drug or alcohol treatment (if ordered)
Drugged driving charges are automatically placed within the third tier. This is true even when it is a first-time offense for a DUI. As a result, a first time drugged DUI carries enhanced penalties, as follows:
• 72 hours to 6 months in jail
• Minimum $1,000 fine to a maximum of $5,000
• Driver's license suspension of 1 year
• Alcohol highway safety school completion
• Drug & Alcohol assessment and defendant must comply with all alcohol and drug treatment requirements
A Delaware County, PA Defense Attorney At Your Side
When you face DUI charges in Delaware County you deserve to have your rights protected. Joseph D. Lento is an experienced criminal defense attorney who will protect your rights. If you are facing criminal charges, contact us today at 888-535-3686.