A DUI charge is always a serious situation for those accused. However, when the alleged offender is underage, his or her entire future could be on the line. Because there is a disproportionately large amount of underage drivers who drive under the influence of alcohol, harsh penalties are in place to deter young drivers from DUI offenses.
An attorney can work on your behalf to keep this charge from affecting the future of the alleged offender, through seeking alternative penalties, fighting the charges, and seeking to seal the record if convicted. With employment and educational opportunities at stake, you need to know that your attorney will proactively seek out a positive resolution for the situation.
Underage DUI Attorney in Philadelphia
Lento Law Firm has tackled a wide range of both juvenile and DUI offenses across Pennsylvania. Our experienced attorneys are familiar with the criminal justice system and know exactly what you're up against. Let us take on your case and aggressively defend your future.
Call us at (215) 535-5353 today to schedule your free consultation appointment. We can analyze the details of your situation and help you choose the best option to pursue. We're ready to put our decade of experience to use for you and minimize the stress on your shoulders throughout this process.
Information About Underage DUI Charges
- Criminal Penalties for Underage DUI in Philadelphia
- Educational Consequences for an Underage DUI Offense in Pennsylvania
Criminal Penalties for Underage DUI in Philadelphia
Normally a driver must have a blood alcohol content of .08 or above to be charged with a DUI offense. For those under 21, however, they must only have a BAC level of .02 or more to be arrested.
According to Penn. Stat. § 3804, the potential consequences for a DUI arrest of a minor increase based on the offender's prior offenses. For a first time offender, the potential penalties include up to 90 days in prison and fine between $300 and $500. If the driver's BAC was above .10 they can also face a suspension of their driving privileges for up to 1 year.
A second offense carries a minimum sentence of 5 days in jail that can be extended to 6 months. In addition, the driver will be fined between $300 and $2,500, and their driver's license will be suspended for one year. The penalties continue to increase for subsequent offenses as well.
Refusing to submit to breath, urine, or blood test to determine your BAC also carries consequences, including suspension of your driving privileges for one year.
Outside of the courtroom, offenders can face other consequences. Already steep insurance rates for teenagers can sky-rocket as a result of an underage drunk driving charge, or they may be dropped from their carrier altogether.
Educational Consequences for an Underage DUI Offense in Pennsylvania
In addition to criminal proceedings based on an underage DUI charge, an offender may face other consequences. If the driver is a student, their educational future may be in jeopardy. Most colleges will require that the student appear at a disciplinary hearing.
The procedures used by different schools may vary, but a lawyer can advise you on how to defend yourself during this hearing, or may be able to speak on your behalf. You may face suspension or expulsion as a result of this hearing, so it is important to ensure that you know the best way to defend yourself.
Finding the Best Attorney for an Underage Drunk Driving Charge in Philadelphia
If you or a loved one is under 21 and facing a DUI charge, you need to know that you have a lawyer on your side who is experienced and determined to relentlessly defend your case. Joseph Lento is ready to aggressively pursue a positive resolution for you while keeping you informed through every step of the way. Call (215) 535-5353 today to schedule your free consultation appointment and take the first step in building a strong defense for your future.